How many types of dravya are there?

How many types of dravya are there?

The Jains recognize the existence of five astikayas (eternal categories of being) which together make up the dravya (substance) of existence. These five are dharma, adharma, akasha, pudgala, and jiva.

What are the 6 Dravyas?

These six, Jiva, Pudgala, Dharma, Adharma, Kala, and Akasha, are called the six substances or Dravyas. Dravya literally means flowing or continuing. It is called so because it flows or continues the same through all its modifications. It is called “sat” or existence also.

What are the 9 Dravyas?

Dravyas are nine in number: earth, water, fire, air, ether, time, space, spirit, and mind.

What are the different types of substance Recognised by the jainas?

Dravya is a Sanskrit term for substance, of which Jains recognize five to six types, namely, living substance, matter, medium of motion, medium of rest, space, and, sometimes, time.

What is Sugandhit dravya Qs?

Sunghudit means “fragrant” and dravya means “substance”. The way we know it indicates a synthetic fragrance is the Q.S. specification: QS:The specification of quantum satis for an ingredient essentially means “Add as much of this ingredient as is needed to achieve the desired result, but not more.”

How many types of pudgala are accepted in Jaina philosophy?

The pudgala are of two types, subtle, and gross, as said earlier.

What is not an extended substance according to Jainism?

2.6 CLASSIFICATION OF SUBSTANCES The classification of substances, according to a Jaina, is into the extended and the non-extended. There is only one substance, namely, time or kala, which is devoid of extension.

Which types of non existence have no beginning but it has an end?

Pradhvamsabhava i.e.Posterior non-existence, is the non-existence of an effect by its destruction; as such it has a beginning but no end i.e. it cannot be destroyed.

What is the meaning of Guna?

Guṇa (Sanskrit: गुण) is a concept in Hinduism and Sikhism, which can be translated as “quality, peculiarity, attribute, property”. The gunas are now a key concept in nearly all schools of Hindu philosophy.

What were the three jewels of Jainism?

This article looks at The Three Jewels of Jainism: right faith, right knowledge and right conduct.

What is the Jain metaphysic?

Metaphysics According to Jain thought, the basic constituents of reality are souls (jiva), matter (pudgala), motion (dharma), rest (adharma), space (akasa), and time (kala). The universe is eternal, matter and souls being equally uncreated.

Is Sugandhit Dravya good for skin?

The antioxidant properties of this unique blend soothes the rough and dry patches of the skin to brighten the dull parts, leaving your skin smoother to the touch and more radiant with a natural shine. Sugandhit dravya- Q.S.

Which is the correct definition of the word dravya?

As per the Sanskrit etymology, dravya means substances or entity, but it may also mean real or fundamental categories. Jain philosophers distinguish a substance from a body, or thing, by declaring the former as a simple element or reality while the latter as a compound of one or more substances or atoms.

What are the properties and action of Dravya?

The dravya has properties ( guna) and action (karma). Dravya is, therefore, any mixture or substance applied externally or taken internally to treat disease, preserve health or ease pain. According to the Jains, dravya is composed of five eternal categories of being, known as astikayas.

What is the meaning of dravya in Jainism?

Dravya. Dravya, (Sanskrit: “substance”) a fundamental concept of Jainism, a religion of India that is the oldest Indian school of philosophy to separate matter and soul completely. The Jains recognize the existence of five astikaya s (eternal categories of being) which together make up the dravya (substance) of existence.

What kind of substance is the dravya in Hinduism?

Dravya (Hindi: द्रव्य) is a term used to refer to a substance. According to the Jain philosophy, the universe is made up of six eternal substances: sentient beings or souls (jīva), non-sentient substance or matter (pudgala), principle of motion (dharma), the principle of rest (adharma), space (ākāśa) and time (kāla).