What are the 4 classes of clouds based on altitude?

What are the 4 classes of clouds based on altitude?

Within each altitude class additional classifications are defined based on four basic types and combinations thereof. These types are Cirrus (meaning hair like), Stratus (meaning layer), Cumulus (meaning pile) and Nimbus (meaning rain producing).

What are the cloud categories?

Cloud types and groups These are divided into three levels – cloud low (CL), cloud medium (CM) and cloud high (CH) – according to the part of the atmosphere in which they are usually found.

What are the major groups of clouds?

Cumulus, Stratus, and Cirrus. There are three main cloud types.

What are the 10 basic types of clouds?

The ten fundamental cloud types are: cirrus (Ci), cirrocumulus (Cc), cirrostratus (Cs) – also known as the high clouds; altocumulus (Ac), altostratus (As) and nimbostratus (Ns) – the middle level clouds; cumulus (Cu), cumulonimbus (Cb), stratocumulus (Sc), and stratus (St), which are classified as low clouds.

What are the four major families of clouds?

The families are: high clouds, middle clouds, low clouds, and clouds with extensive vertical development. The first three families are further classified according to the way they are formed.

What are the three principal cloud groups?

There are three main groups of clouds: lower, middle and high level clouds. Clouds are responsible for all types of precipitation, including snow, hail and rain. Under special circumstances, clouds can create hurricanes, tornadoes and severe storms.

What are the different types of clouds and their meaning?

The Different Types Of Clouds And Their Meanings High Clouds. Clouds are classified as high clouds when they occur at altitudes of 6096 meters (20 000 feet) or higher. Middle Clouds. Middle clouds usually occur at altitudes of between 2000 meters (6 500 feet) and 6096 meters (20 000 feet). Low Clouds. Low clouds are formed at altitudes of below 2000 meters (6 500 feet). Multi-level Clouds.