Has any president served 2 non consecutive terms?

Has any president served 2 non consecutive terms?

The first Democrat elected after the Civil War in 1885, our 22nd and 24th President Grover Cleveland was the only President to leave the White House and return for a second term four years later (1885-1889 and 1893-1897).

What was Grover Cleveland’s political party?

National Democratic Party
Grover Cleveland/Parties

Did Grover Cleveland run for a second term?

The first Democrat elected after the Civil War, Cleveland is the only US president to leave office after one term and later return for a second term. As his second presidency began, disaster hit the nation when the Panic of 1893 produced a severe national depression.

What president got 4 terms?

Smith as “the Happy Warrior.” In 1928 Roosevelt became Governor of New York. He was elected President in November 1932, to the first of four terms.

Which president served more than 2 terms?

President Franklin Delano Roosevelt
On November 7, 1944, President Franklin Delano Roosevelt is elected to an unprecedented fourth term in office. FDR remains the only president to have served more than two terms.

What was Abraham Lincoln’s slogan?

1860. “Vote yourself a farm and horses” – Abraham Lincoln, referencing Republican support for a law granting homesteads on the American frontier areas of the West.

Which presidents have served two terms?

Presidents by time in office

Rank President Number of terms
2 tie Woodrow Wilson Two full terms
Dwight D. Eisenhower Two full terms
Ronald Reagan Two full terms
Bill Clinton Two full terms

Which president did not serve 2 terms?


Term in office President Country
1797–1801 John Adams United States
1825–1829 John Quincy Adams United States
1837–1841 Martin Van Buren United States
1853–1857 Franklin Pierce United States