How many representatives does Mississippi have?

How many representatives does Mississippi have?

The Legislature is composed of the lower Mississippi House of Representatives, with 122 members, and the upper Mississippi State Senate, with 52 members. Both Representatives and Senators serve four-year terms without term limits.

Who are the 4 representatives of Mississippi?

Current representatives

  • 1st district: Trent Kelly (R) (since 2015)
  • 2nd district: Bennie Thompson (D) (since 1993)
  • 3rd district: Michael Guest (R) (since 2019)
  • 4th district: Steven Palazzo (R) (since 2011)

How many House of Representatives do states have?

As of the 2010 Census, the largest delegation is that of California, with 53 representatives. Seven states have only one representative: Alaska, Delaware, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Vermont, and Wyoming.

Who are Mississippi’s representatives?

Bennie Thompson (Democratic Party)
Trent Kelly (Republican Party)Steven Palazzo (Republican Party)Michael Guest (Republican Party)

Who are the 2 Mississippi senators?

Roger Wicker (Republican Party)
Cindy Hyde-Smith (Republican Party)
Its current senators are Republicans Cindy Hyde-Smith and Roger Wicker. As of April 2, 2018, 51 people have served as U.S. senators from Mississippi.

What is the salary of a Mississippi state representative?

Mississippi House of Representatives
Length of term 4 years
Authority Article IV, Mississippi Constitution
Salary $10,000/year + per diem

Who is the speaker of the House in the state of Mississippi?

Mississippi House of Representatives
New session started January 7, 2020
Speaker Philip Gunn (R) since January 3, 2012
Speaker pro Tempore Jason White (R) since January 7, 2020

Who controls the House of Representatives 2020?

2020 United States House of Representatives elections

Party Democratic Republican
Leader since January 3, 2003 January 3, 2019
Leader’s seat California 12th California 23rd
Last election 235 seats, 53.4% 199 seats, 44.8%
Seats before 232 197

Why are there currently 435 members in the House?

Because the House wanted a manageable number of members, Congress twice set the size of the House at 435 voting members. It permanently set the maximum number of representatives at 435. In addition, the law determined a procedure for automatically reapportioning House seats after each census.

Who is the speaker of the House of Representatives?

Arthur LiraSince 2021

How many senators are from Mississippi?


What is the salary of a senator?

Salaries of members of the United States Congress

Position Salary
Senators and House Representatives $174,000
Resident Commissioner from Puerto Rico $174,000
President pro tempore of the Senate $193,400
Majority leader and minority leader of the Senate $193,400