What are the two types of skeletal tissue?

What are the two types of skeletal tissue?

There are two types of bone tissue: compact and spongy. The names imply that the two types differ in density, or how tightly the tissue is packed together.

What are the 2 types of bone tissue and where is each found in the bone?

Compact bone makes up the outer layer of the bone. Spongy bone is found mostly at the ends of bones and contains red marrow.

What are 2 basic types of bone tissue?

There are two types of bone tissue: compact and spongy.

What are the main types of bone tissue?

There are 3 types of bone tissue:

  • Compact tissue. This is the harder, outer tissue of bones.
  • Cancellous tissue. This is the sponge-like tissue inside bones.
  • Subchondral tissue. This is the smooth tissue at the ends of bones, which is covered with another type of tissue called cartilage.

What is the most common type of skeletal injury?

The most common fractures are anterior wedge compression and burst fractures. Multiple fractures, often present, are frequently at noncontiguous levels, which highlights the need to evaluate the entire spine.

What are different types of skeletal tissue?

Skeletal muscle is one of three major muscle types, the others being cardiac muscle and smooth muscle. It is a form of striated muscle tissue, which is under the voluntary control of the somatic nervous system. Most skeletal muscles are attached to bones by bundles of collagen fibers known as tendons.

What are the 2 types of bones in human body?

Bone types

  • Long bone – has a long, thin shape. Examples include the bones of the arms and legs (excluding the wrists, ankles and kneecaps).
  • Short bone – has a squat, cubed shape.
  • Flat bone – has a flattened, broad surface.
  • Irregular bone – has a shape that does not conform to the above three types.

What are bone cavities called?

Medullary Cavity
The medullary cavity (medulla, innermost part) is the central cavity of bone shafts where red bone marrow and/or yellow bone marrow (adipose tissue) is stored; hence, the medullary cavity is also known as the marrow cavity….

Medullary Cavity
TA2 386
FMA 83698
Anatomical terminology

What are the classification of bones?

The four principal types of bones are long, short, flat and irregular.

What are the three main types of skeletal injuries?

You may think that a fracture is a fracture, right? However, there are different types of fractures that can all be classified into three main categories including a simple bone fracture, a comminuted fracture, and an open fracture.

What are the 4 basic types of musculoskeletal injuries?

4. Classification and management of musculoskeletal injuries

  • 4.1. Soft tissue injuries. The soft tissue is a term that encompasses all body tissue except the bones. It includes skin, muscles, vessels, ligaments, tendons, and nerves.
  • 4.2. Fracture and dislocation injuries. 4.2. Fractures.

What are the two types of skeletal tissue class 9?

They are of 2 types: 1)Tendons:They are inelastic, cord like, strong structures that join muscle to bone. They are made of white fibres. 2)Ligaments:They are highly elastic and has great strength but contain very little matrix.