What is the Nobel Prize in Literature awarded for?

What is the Nobel Prize in Literature awarded for?

Outstanding contributions in literature

Nobel Prize in Literature
Awarded for Outstanding contributions in literature
Location Stockholm, Sweden
Presented by Swedish Academy
Reward(s) 10 million SEK (2020)

Who received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2013?

Alice Munro

Alice Munro
Language English
Alma mater The University of Western Ontario
Genre Short stories, Realism, Southern Ontario Gothic
Notable awards Governor General’s Award (1968, 1978, 1986) Giller Prize (1998, 2004) Man Booker International Prize (2009) Nobel Prize in Literature (2013)

Why did Steinbeck receive the Nobel Prize for Literature?

The Nobel Prize in Literature 1962 was awarded to John Steinbeck “for his realistic and imaginative writings, combining as they do sympathetic humour and keen social perception.”

Why did Nobel Prize is given?

Alfred Nobel had a vision of a better world. He believed that people are capable of helping to improve society through knowledge, science and humanism. This is why he created a prize that would reward the discoveries that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind.

Who is the 1st Nobel Prize winner in India?

Rabindranath Tagore
Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian to get a Nobel Prize in 1913 for his work in Literature. He won the award for “his profoundly sensitive, fresh and beautiful verse, by which, with consummate skill, he has made his poetic thought, expressed in his own English words, a part of the literature of the West”.

Who is eligible for the Nobel Prize?

According to the statutes of the Nobel Foundation, a nomination is considered valid if it is submitted by a person who falls within one of the following categories: Members of national assemblies and national governments (cabinet members/ministers) of sovereign states as well as current heads of states.

What is Alice Munro’s short story?

Boys and Girls
How I Met My HusbandThe Moons of JupiterFree RadicalsA Wilderness Station
Alice Munro/Short stories

Who got Nobel Prize in 2013?

Announcement of the 2013 Nobel Prize in Literature to Alice Munro, presented by Professor Peter Englund, Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy, on 10 October 2013.

How much of East of Eden is true?

Though its story is not autobiographical, East of Eden does delve into the world of Steinbeck’s childhood, incorporating his memories of the Salinas Valley in the early years of the twentieth century, his memories of the war era, and his memories of his relatives, many of whom are secondary characters in the novel.

What happens if you win the Nobel Prize?

The prize ceremonies take place annually. Each recipient (known as a “laureate”) receives a gold medal, a diploma, and a monetary award. In 2020, the Nobel Prize monetary award is 10,000,000 SEK, or US$1,145,000, or €968,000, or £880,000.