What are the 7 major scales?

What are the 7 major scales?

The 7 Modes Of The Major Scale Every major scale has 7 modes, the modes are called Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aolian & Locrian. The major scale is called the Ionian mode and the relative minor is the Aolian Mode — so you already know 2 of them — that just leaves 5 left to learn!

What are the 9 major scales?

Nine Tone Scales

  • C. Notes: C, D, Eb, E, F#, G, G#, A, B, C. C# / Db.
  • D. Notes: D, E, F, F#, G#, A, A#, B, C#, D. D# /Eb.
  • E. Notes: E, F#, G, G#, A#, B, C, C#, Eb, E. F.
  • F# / Gb. Notes: F#, G#, A, A#, C, C#, D, Eb, F, F# G.
  • G# / Ab. Notes: G#, A#, B, C, D, Eb, E, F, G, G# A.
  • A# / Bb. Notes: A#, C, C#, D, E, F, F#, G, A, A# B.

Which scale is a major scale?

diatonic scale
A major scale is a diatonic scale. The sequence of intervals between the notes of a major scale is: whole, whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half. where “whole” stands for a whole tone (a red u-shaped curve in the figure), and “half” stands for a semitone (a red angled line in the figure).

What are the 5 major scales?

The five C-A-G-E-D scale shapes (C shape, A shape, G shape, E shape and D shape) surround the entire fretboard. The “shapes” are sometimes also referred to as “positions”.

What are the major scale positions?

The 5 Major Scale Positions

  • C Major Scale, 1-4-6 Position.
  • C Major Scale, 2-4 Position.
  • C Major Scale, 2-5 Position.
  • C Major Scale, 3-5 Position.
  • C Major Scale, 1-3-6 Position.

How do you find a major scale?

The formula for creating a major scale is “whole, whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half.” half: b to c – Note that you’re back where you started at c.

What is the minor scale formula?

This combination of notes is called the minor scale. The minor scale is created with a formula, just like the major scale. The formula for the minor scale is whole, half, whole, whole, half, whole, whole.